The real thing

Image

You can’t beat the real thing to help you as a writer capture what you’re writing about. So apart from visiting locations and studying the finer details of photographs: expressions on faces, plants growing, background views, style of furniture etc… I like to be able to touch stuff too. I have my grandmothers (my protagonist) wedding dress. It’s a beautiful handmade garment, made from Benares silk. The tiny stitches are exquisite. But what really struck me was how tiny it is. I have the little silver shoes that she wore with it too. The buckles are diamante and the leather soles barely worn, again so small, a size 3 I think. I also have one of her paintings. It really helps to bring her to life.

I’m thinking of doing a book trailer for dancing with fireflies, something that I’ve read about on Wattpad. I’ll use these items in the film. Not sure how yet but I’ll post it on here when I do it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

