A useful editing technique

I’m on the third draft of my manuscript….I’ve had a comment on a review site that has made me look at my narrative ‘it jumps about a bit’ was the comment. I find this quite hard to sort out on the screen so I’ve made a new document called – ‘cut copy to paste in elsewhere’. I’ve then printed out the chapter I’m working on and marked the location of the narrative ……in my case: India and Catterick in different colours. This really helps me to see if and where it jumps. I then take the offending paragraphs out and either put them elsewhere or save for later in my new document. It’s definitely worth doing – my manuscript is looking much better.

Image

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A useful editing technique

  1. Thank you for this editing tip. I’m about to start editing myself and I’m sure this will help me a lot!

Leave a Reply

