Nick Westwood at Red Savannah shares his love of writing in the ‘magic hour’.

Image

What form does your writing take?

I am a travel writer, so generally short essay format. I also write travel brochure copy and blogs.

How often do you write?

I find to stay sharp I need to write every day and try to do so for an hour every morning.

How does writing make you feel?

I enjoy the intellectual stimulation of the writing process and the sense of being entirely engrossed in a piece of composition. I also enjoy the spiritual sensation of human creativity and producing art.

Where/when do you write?

I write at my desk in my study, early in the morning in the ‘magic hour’. Everyone is still asleep, it’s quiet and the world hasn’t had chance to invade my thoughts yet.

What do you write about?

I work in the travel business, so generally I’m writing about travel experiences – sights, sounds, people and events – getting under the skin of a place and finding a truth.

What’s the best thing about writing?

I am a linguist, and love the purity of language – vocabulary and construction, varieties and differences. I’m obsessed with etymology and always thrilled to learn a new word, in any language.

How long have you been writing for?

All my life, in fits and starts, but only in more recent years have I made writing a daily commitment.

Nick Westwood is Director of Product at Red Savannah. @nickwestwood

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

