Serious sequels…….well not vampires and villains.

I’m trying to find a decent couple of books to read…not just any old books (that’s easy, I have about 20 on my shelf and Kindle waiting to be read)……I’m looking for certain types of books..A book with a sequel. The problem is most of them are either teen fiction, adult fantasy fiction or teen detective/spy novels. Maybe I’m barking up the wrong tree to even contemplate writing a sequel to an adult, historical novel?  If anyone has any suggestions that don’t include dragons, vampires, teen love etc I would very much appreciate it!

In the meantime I’m going to settle with Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert who wrote Eat, Pray, Love….not sure I really want to read it but I’ve got to try and work out how to write my sequel and I’ve already read the first one. I quite like the look of Once, Now, Then, After by Morris Gleitzman….Strangely you can get the last 3 books on Kindle but not the first one which has put me off a bit.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Serious sequels…….well not vampires and villains.

  1. Are you wanting a fiction book with a sequel, or a memoir with a sequel? if you want fiction, I love Richard Ford’s Frank Bascombe trilogy, The Sportswriter, Independence Day and Lay of the Land. I have also enjoyed The Raj Quartet and The Alexandria Quartet and Powell’s The Dance of Time.

  2. Thanks for that…I’ll look into your recommendations. I think fiction is what I’m after.

  3. I loved “Here if you need me” a wonderful memoir of a female game warden chaplain in Main during her journey to find peace after she lost her husband, followed by “marriage and other acts of charity”, her second book related stories of both her first and second marriages.

    I can also offer that I hated the sequel to Julie and Julia, the memoir book turned movie that was popular a while ago. It is called Cleaving and I found it trite and terrible.

    As for historical fiction, I love the genre but haven’t the first clue of any series worth looking into. If you get any good suggestions I would love to know about them!

  4. Hi, first let me say thank you for following my blog! Next, if you have not read these, please do try The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest … in that order, all by the late Stieg Larsson. Let me know if they appeal to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

