Steve Thorp, integral therapist & writer of poetry tells us how writing makes him feel complete

Image

What form does your writing take?

It depends on what project I’m involved in at the time! At the moment I’m writing ten course modules for my online ‘soul making’ course – 21soul. I write these initially as scripts for audio seminars  – and I like the rhythm of writing for speaking! However, they are essays or chapters I suppose.

I also write poetry and short poetic prose on my psycho-bubble tumblr blog, and have self published poetry through the creative thorp imprint that I run with my wife, Mary.

At other times I might be writing pieces about wellbeing, ecology or psychology for my day job, which is having soulful, helping conversations with people! I’ve recently written a piece for Earthlines magazine, and I love feeling part of a community of writers who are saying something fresh about the world!

I’m also working on some short fiction at the moment – I used to think I could write a novel, but I’m often more interested in the tone of the writing than the narrative or dialogue!

 

How often do you write?

Most days I’ll be writing something – there’s a lot going on in there! I would like to be one of those people who is very disciplined and do 500 words a day – but I’m just not! Usually an idea or a theme will come to be that I start by sketching out or jotting down – and then this often turns into something more substantial.

Once it’s more established, then I will work at it until it is in a form to be put on my blog or published in some way. My e-book Back to life: Soul Manifestos and Pieces of Joy took far longer than it should to complete!

 

How does writing make you feel?

When it comes together, writing makes me feel complete – even if only for a short while.

It also makes me feel surprised (pleasantly!) sometimes. I don’t always know what’s going to emerge and I often really  like what emerges. I’ll often think – wow! Where did come from? That’s a good feeling.

Other times I feel frustrated and stuck, but i’m usually able to work my way through it – maybe that ability comes from my psychotherapy training.

Where/when do you write.

Nearly always at home. We renovated an old Granary near the coast in Pembrokeshire and its a wonderful space to live and work in. I sit at our giant kitchen table with the light streaming through the skylights and that’s where I’m most productive.

The jotting down of ideas can happen anywhere, of course, but the flow and the craft takes place at home. Strangely I don’t mind the distractions – the space is just such a great place to be in!

   What do you write about?

 I mainly write about the themes of inner and outer landscapes. My poetry often has a wild quality based on the countryside and nature of Pembrokeshire.

I  like writing from experience (more in-the-moment stuff than narrative and dialogue!) and getting the tone of a time or place or emotion. I’m also writing quite a lot about ecological psychology and the ways in which human beings can be happy and fulfilled in a challenging world. I like integrating and writing about new ideas.

And I write about people I love.

 

What’s the best thing about writing?

The unpredictability and originality of it! I love the fact that almost everytime I write something new emerges, a completely new and original constellation of words and ideas!

Of course, its also great when other people like what I’ve written and the good thing about blogging and self publishing is that you can reach people directly with no arbitration by publishers, agents or editors. These are people are necessarily are more interested in the commercial value of the work or, in the case of poetry, some sense of what ‘good’ poetry is (I always find the idea of poetry competitions quite strange!).

 

How long have you been writing for?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember, but I’ve only called myself a writer for a few years – this was about self confidence, I think. Real writers were the ones that won the Booker Prize or were serious, bearded blokes. One of the first poems I wrote in my first pamphlet is called ‘serious poets’ and began:

Serious poets

Have serious beards,

Look serious

(The men that is).

 

Their ragged lines,

Like their rugged stares,

Challenge me

To question

Their muscular,

Defiant obscurity.

I felt a bit better after writing that!

About Steve

Steve Thorp trained and worked as a teacher and psychotherapist and now describes himself as an independent integral therapist and he is a writer of poetry and ecological prose.

His passion is finding ways of supporting creative, soulful and realistic responses to the global crises we face – and supporting the development of individuals and organisations.

He is a poet and writer, and spends as much time as he can on Newgale beach, near his home in Pembrokeshire, and is a proud and doting Grandpa!

His website is www.21soul.co.uk and his blog is at www.21soul.me.uk

He writes short poetry and fiction at http://psycho-bubble.tumblr.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

