To self publish or not to self publish?

I’ve seen the light…no I haven’t been visited by an apparition. I’ve decided to self publish! I always assumed I’d go down the literary agent/publisher route but having researched the self publishing phenomenon, it’s an interesting alternative not to be sniffed at. I’ve read loads of other people’s experiences including their mistakes and successes. I’ve decide it could be right for me. After all my background is marketing. I can design my own book cover. I’m a bit of a social media tart. It seems to me that you have more control over the whole process, more freedom, more creativity. I realise you don’t get the kudos of a book deal, the expertise of editors and marketeers but times are changing and I’m ready to go with it. Exciting times ahead!

I would love to hear other writers views on this……

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “To self publish or not to self publish?

  1. Jools

    I’m excited for you! Good luck with this, and I hope you will share your experience, any learnings, positives and negatives. I’m still pursuing the literary agent/publisher route – for now – but it’s the experiences of people like you which might sway me towards making the same decision as you’ve just made.

    • Hi Jools

      It’s such a difficult decision isn’t it? I’ll update on here as I work out what I’m doing, how I’m going to do it and how its going. Would love to hear how you are getting on with finding an agent/publisher and if you too end up embarking on the self publishing journey!

      God luck.
      Jane

Leave a Reply

