Forty thousand words and counting….

Book two is now well under way. I had got stuck for a while with the enormous amount of information I wanted to add, after researching the partition of India in 1947. It was a period of utter catastrophe with disastrous consequences that still resonate almost 70 years later. My family were lucky to be Anglo-Indians during this turbulent time, but still struggled in a country sliced in two by the British. At one point young Maureen (my mother) was stranded in Nainital (India) whilst Phyllis (my grandmother) was in the newly created Pakistan.

To help break down my notes, I’ve cut them all up into sentences and stuck them on the window in front of my Mac. Each time I include a piece into the book, I take it from the window and bin it. Along with the family photo album, mums sketch of the villa they rented and my chapter cards (colour coded for each location) the book is steaming along! Forty thousand words and counting …..

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

