What’s the story? Well…

 

Iain Robertson is used to tough jobs – after retiring from the Parachute Regiment, he took on jobs guarding George Harrison, Gary Moore and Johnny Rotten. But keeping Oasis on the rails after debut album Definitely Maybe ignited their rise toward global superstardom would be the toughest gig of them all. Iain was side-by-side with Oasis as their road manager and minder, twenty-four hours a day, eight days a week, as they took on the world and won. No one was closer to the maelstrom. His story is the defining chronicle of life on tour with Oasis.

I caught up with the very likeable Iain, and asked him about his writing……

What form does your writing take? I had a moment of epiphany in the Hamburg apartment of one of our most celebrated Indie- rock-stars.

I had travelled over for something of a holiday, and whilst there was working through the paradigm for my book ‘What’s the story?’ A tour diary of the Britpop giants ‘Oasis’: told from my perspective as their road manager, and head of security.

‘Ignore the rules, enjoy the journey’ he told me.

‘As long as one person gets it, it can be considered a success: even if that one person is you’.

That advice resonated, and whenever I put pen to paper, I’m just looking for an authenticity.

I trust that if I can find something redemptive in the result. Others will.

These days I write mainly for the remembering of this or that, although I am working on a second book, which explores the remarkable dynamic of volunteer fire-fighters. Shifting, as they do, from builder to emergency responder; cutting someone’s teenager out of a car-wreck, to builder again: In the same morning or afternoon.

How often do you write? Not as often as I should.

How does writing make you feel? Mostly, it feels like work. Very occasionally the words find themselves, but in the main it is an unforgiving thing discipline: I have yet to try my hand at fiction, and liberating the extraordinary, in a set of ordinary circumstances/things/events is always hard. The story is not a story, unless it has something of the remarkable within. Sifting for that remarkable, and doing justice to it, when found, well: It takes a keen minds-eye. It often feels beyond me. However, when one finds that remarkable, and captures it, even if only for the benefit of an audience of one: it is rather wonderful.

When and where do you write? I steal moments. I write anywhere. Longhand.

What do you write about? To date, it has always been autobiographical. So: Music. Poetry. Guns and cars and accidents. Fire.

What’s the best thing about writing? Getting a thank you letter, postmarked Australia, from someone who saw a similar truth.

Oasis: What’s the story by Iain Robertson is available in paperback priced £7.99. Follow the link to purchase your very own copy:

https://johnblakebooks.com/oasis-what-039-s-the-story-pb.html

http://www.facebook.com/johnblakebooks

twitter.com/jblakebooks

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

